Thankfully…

So, quite a few of the bloggers I follow (and some of my Tweeps) are posting daily in November a thought on what they are thankful for in their lives. Mostly, I think this is inspired by the American Thanksgiving holiday at the end of the month. Some also do it as a healthy lead-in to the gift-giving season. Others, simply because they feel they have a lot to be thankful for. Whatever the reason, I think it’s a great idea.

Obvs, I’m a little late to the party, but here is my catch-up for days 1-5, not necessarily in order of importance (some blessings deserve a post to themselves), but all big in my world:

1. I’m thankful for my life. I was recounting for a friend the other day a funny tidbit about the fact that I am an “oops” baby: my parents had me late in life…much later than my siblings. That got me to thinking that I’m so fortunate in my life and my parents. My mom always said that I was a gift to her, as she had been told that she couldn’t have more children. But I know that there were options available to my parents that would have left me with a much different life, if any at all, than the one I have lived to date. I’m thankful that they chose me and loved me while they lived. That choice gave me the capacity to love in return. And I’m blessed immeasurably by it.

2. Although recent posts have been filled with my angst about whether and how to come out to them, I am exceedingly thankful for my siblings and their spouses. They are my biggest fans, cheering me on to great accomplishment at every stage of my life thus far. They provide strength, stability, love and respect, as well as a ton of comic relief. Despite their human flaws, they are great guys and gals, whom I love dearly and am grateful to have in my life.

3. I’m thankful for comfort and plenty. I’ve been poor and understand hunger and want. Sleeping too many in a bed, going without shoes, choosing between buying food and paying a bill, worrying whether we’d have a home next week…all familiar pains of poverty that I’ve experienced. I’m so blessed to have survived beyond that and thrived with the blessings in my life. I try daily to remember that they are blessings, not entitlements, and to never take them for granted.

4. My friends, both in-real-life and virtual, ROCK! I’m so grateful to have the support of such staunch allies and cool, fun fellow mischief-makers.

5. And today I’m thankful for a great job in my chosen field of work. I am blessed to live in a time and place where I was able to pursue my interests, earn the necessary degrees and find employment in an area of legal practice that both challenges and fulfills me. Intellectual and professional engagement, work-life balance, fair pay and benefits, and a safe, supportive work environment are united in the job I have, for which I am ever grateful.

That’s a lot of blessings, but barely scratches the surface of how greatly I have been blessed. Stay tuned, as more thanksgiving is forthcoming…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

