Thankful for…music

As blessed as my life is, I still do experience a significant amount of stress from my job and…life. One of the most effective ways for me to deal with stress is to listen to music. Indeed, I generally have a song or three running through my head at any given moment. It’s like a soundtrack for my life. šŸ™‚

Aside from stress relief, I find that music helps work go more quickly and blocks out distractions. Depending on the task at hand, just about any kind of music will do (excluding spoken-word and rap, which too easily distract me): classical, rock, alternative, folk…you name it! The breadth of sound and nuance of expression transport my mind away from the pressure of the day or the stress of the task, and free my brain to think more clearly and creatively.

Also, also, plus, and…I’ve recently discovered a whole new level of meaning in the lyrics of some songs. Since discovering first hand what it’s like to love completely and be loved in return (I know, eeeew with the mushy!), certain songs now have a layer of significance I was previously incapable of understanding. Those meaningful songs now punctuate my day with bright little spots of musical joy and make me smile while I think of Special Femme.

I’m thankful that so much amazing music exists in the world, that it’s accessible to me, and that I have healthy ears with which to listen to it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

