Thankful for…freedom

Today is Veterans Day in the US and Remembrance Day in Australia. Other countries also have time for remembering and honoring those who’ve served their countries. I’m glad to know that’s happening in so many places. But today, my thoughts are of our US uniformed services and the freedom I enjoy because they (in all our time as a nation) chose to serve.

Regardless of your political beliefs or the feelings you have about the military in general, the truth is that the Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, and Coast Guards, of this country and in every era deserve to be honored for their service and sacrifice in the cause of our peace and freedom.

I acknowledge that in he US military, as in every group of humans throughout time, there have been abuses, neglect and atrocities committed by a few. They taint the image, in some peoples’ minds, of the entire organization. I disagree. The need for armed forces is ugly and the job they do, often uglier still. That topic is a whole lifetime’s worth of posts to discuss and debate. But today, I focus on the freedom I have to write those posts and express those opinions.

I have that freedom, and so much more comfort and ease, because of the sacrifice of service that millions have made on my behalf, including my grandfather, two great-uncles, three uncles, my father, my brother, two nephews and my niece.

To all of them, and all the others before and since, who serve honorably and to their families who sacrifice along with them, I offer my sincerest thanks for your service. I honor you and thank you for my freedom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

