Thankful for…fun

All work and no play makes me one stressed-out butch. Luckily, I live in a place where there are fun things to do. Also, also, also…there’s a whole wide world out there full of opportunity for fun, and travel is reasonably possible to much of it.

I’ve been really fortunate this year in getting to do some really fun things:

– In January, I got to visit the headquarters if Coca Cola in Atlanta. I was in town for a business function and my company reserved Coke’s visitor center/museum for a private party for our employees. It’s was amazing to see the pride Coke has in it’s company history and in their brand, which is among the strongest in the world. There were a lot of interesting artifacts, art, memorabilia and information to see, as well as good food, good music, good company and tons of free Coke drinks from around the world!

– In the spring and early summer, I attended several arts events. My favorite was the summer arts festival in my home town. It was two mad, hectic, hot days in our newly renovated downtown. The streets blocked off, hundreds of artisans in neat tents lining the downtown streets and musicians and performance artists all around to supplement the crafts and fine art on display. My creative heart was soaring at getting to soak in all the artsy vibes!

– Independence Day found me in Washington DC with my family. Huge fun! A dream realized in a visit to the Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum, as well as joy in meeting my nephew’s lovely bride. I wrote about it already, here.

– In August, as I previously posted here, I got to attend the amazing Butch Voices conference and meet a few of my Twitter pals for the first time in real life. I’ve never had an experience so fun & validating at the same time!

– And, as I’ve mentioned (hopefully not to the point of annoyance), October saw me in Australia with the love of my life. Apart from the thrill of being with her for two weeks, it was also the best time of my life from a fun perspective. No responsibilities, no email, five beaches, sight seeing and tons of new people to meet for two straight weeks…bliss!

Add to that fun movies, new friends, new experiences in finding a part of my local LGBT community, good books and periodic visits with old friends and family, and my life this year has been full to bursting with amazing blessings of fun. I’m very grateful for each moment of it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

