Thankful for…my crew

I don’t talk about my job all that much, other than the occasional grumble about bone-headed sales guys and the odd mention of the stress I feel sometimes. But I have mentioned that I’m an in-house attorney for a software company and that I really love my job.

One of the things that makes it great is the fact that I work with great people. I’ve been blessed with a wonderful staff of skilled, smart, hard-working lawyers, paralegals and administrators. They are an amazing team. Together, the ten of us handle all customer-facing legal matters for the company’s operations in the Western Hemisphere. Mine is a billion dollar plus company, so that’s a LOT of business!

Without the hard work and dedication of my team, neither I nor my company could survive for long in this business. They do all manner of small miracles and favors and magic tricks to get the work of multitudes done by just a handful of folks and in a time-frame that is mind-boggling in the context of the amount of work performed.

The cool thing is that they all have a positive attitude and a get-it-done mentality. Though they definitely feel the pressure and occasionally snap at a sales guy or three, they like their jobs and do them well. They like each other, work hard and look out for the company’s interests. They are a cohesive unit and are engaged, enjoying (mostly) what they do. As a manager, I can’t ask for more than that. They inspire my admiration and respect every day.

I’m grateful today for the help and camaraderie of a fabulous team of great people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

