10 Dates That Live In Infamy…at Least For Me

Everyone has a list of special days, occasions that have special significance on a personal level. Some lists are longer than others. But everyone keeps track of at least one day that has meaning to them, if to no one else.

Until today, my list consisted of nine dates that help tell the story of me. Today, the tenth date was added to my list:

March 1, 1969 – the day I was born
March 1, 1986 – the day my dad died
May 15, 1997 – the day I was sworn in for the first time and received my license to practice law
April 17, 2000 – the day I started work for my current employer, where I’ve earned the most professional success in my career
May 19, 2000 – the day my mom died
October 25, 2002 – the day I bought my first house
March 1, 2013 – the day I finally came out to myself
April 25, 2013 – the day Lulu & I began dating exclusively
October 2, 2013 – the day Lulu & I first met in real life

And:

February 17, 2014 – the day my family acknowledged that I’m gay & that they still love me

There’s so much more to it. So much that I have to wrap my head around before I can share it. All I can say is that Lulu, my beloved and the fiercest, most amazing femme on the planet, is the means of my liberation. One more reason she is my greatest blessing. She deserves a medal for making this happen.

And, though there is a lot of hard stuff left to get through, it is still a day of triumph. This date marks a new phase of my life, one in which I will no longer fear to be myself.

4 comments so far

  1. Lillybet on

    I want to press the shit out of the like button but alas my platform isn’t being supportive.
    Congratulations on starting a new phase in your life. I hope it is filled with love and understanding.

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Thank you so much! I hope to make this the most love-filled life possible. Thanks for your support.

  2. MainelyButch on

    I’ve been reading many of your recent blogs lately, sort of catching up and getting to know you a bit deeper. I must say first that you are a very good writer; I enjoy your style and your honesty in words. Also, I can really relate to a lot of what you are/have been going through albeit on a slightly different time line! I’ve always called the days, or moments that stand out in our minds as our “defining moments”; moments that somehow or in some way shaped another little piece of our soul and our life as a whole. They are significant for reasons that aren’t always obvious at the exact moment, but play out many times over as our life goes on. So, I have enjoyed your blogs and our connection on FB. Keep writing, and keep being strong! I think you are on the brink of some big things in your life, and Lulu seems to be a great co-pilot for the flight! Rock on! ~Ang

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Thanks for reading & commenting, Ang. Yes, exactly. Defining moments. I’m learning to recognize the patterns and may one day be able to leverage them for the good. Glad you find something to enjoy in my blog. I enjoy writing it and hope to keep at it for a long time. Thanks for reading & the encouragement!


Leave a Reply

