Trying something

So, I’m not very consistent at blogging. Seems like I blog in explosive, sporadic, unpredictable bursts. Usually about things that are weighing on my mind. I’d like to improve that. Even if I never get to a daily publishing pace, I’d like to at least settle into a regular writing and publishing schedule.

Thus I’m going to try something. Word Press is offering a Writing 101 course to do just that: instill a regular writing habit. It also offers an opportunity to give and receive feedback and to participate in a writing community.

It starts today. Today’s prompt is to free-write for 20 minutes and today’s twist is to publish the stream of consciousness.

The course is for fun and to improve writing. But nothing is required, it’s not prescriptive. Obviously, the benefits I receive will depend entirely on what I put into it. I’m fearful that my writing will be even more boring when pushed into what is, right now, an artificial rhythm.

As you can tell, I’m using the Writing 101 adventure as my free write topic. Very meta.

And I’m pretty sure it’s also very boring.

But my problem is that I don’t find creative writing a natural activity. Though I do have a mild creative impulse, I usually have to have a goal, an end result in mind, in order to create anything I can view as worth while. Whether creating jewelry, sculpture, glass or writing, a clear concept is a requirement for my brain to do good work. I’m not artist enough to create out of nothing.

I don’t know why that is. All I know is that, without a topic or end in mind, a blank sheet of paper or blank screen fills my head with static and I can’t hear my own thoughts. Weird. It’s as if having a goal or concept removes a load of pressure. You’d think it’d be the opposite, that the concept or target would create the pressure of achieving the desired result. Kind of like performance anxiety.

Anyway, I’m embarking on this month-long blogging journey and hope to have a better writing habit afterward. And if I improve writing skills and get a little better at creativity in the process, that’s even better. I prob’ly won’t publish everything, but I’m going to try to stick with the daily schedule.

I hope you’ll enjoy a greater variety of posts and can be a little patient with my attempt to write better and more regularly.

8 comments so far

  1. KTC on

    I like what you’ve written. I’m doing the Blogging U Writing 101 thing too. Thank you for posting this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Thanks! Looking forward to this. Hope you enjoy the experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. shelie27 on

    I fear being more boring as well. I don’t think this was boring it kind of felt like a bit of an intro. I like your tagline.

  3. SingTravelAct on

    Do you have a link to the course? I’m interested in checking it out, since my writing could also use a boost of inspiration/discipline.

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Hey, Amy! No, but if you search writing101 in the reader you’ll find it.

  4. Billy on

    Good! Looking forward to it ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

