29 Days: Top 5

Today was a very long day. It was full of fast-paced decisions, on-the-spot demands, and unexpected executive pinch-hitting. I acquitted myself well and am satisfied with the outcome. Professional satisfaction is a good thing about today. 

But another good thing about today was an unexpected non-work discussion with a work friend I only get to see in person once a year or so. A few years ago we were joking with each other and, to razz her a bit, I responded to her completely irrational attack on the merits of Fleetwood Mac’s music by vowing Stevie Nicks to be the world’s best singer. My friend reminded me of that silliness today. After disabusing her of the idea that I really meant what I’d said (she’s one of the greats, but not the greatest), we debated our choices for our personal top 5 favorite female singers. All jokes aside, I like where I landed. My choices are all about voice, not looks, writing talent, band, or off-stage personality. Just who’s voice do I like to listen to? Here’s my list:

  1. Madonna 
  2. kd lang
  3. Sarah McLachlan
  4. Stevie Nicks
  5. Patsy Cline

Who’s on your list?

7 comments so far

  1. Jamie Ray on

    In pop, Natalie Merchant, Lucinda Williams, and Chrissie Hynde. In jazz, the list is so long…but my favorites are Ella Fitzgerald, Sara Vaughn, and Billie Holiday. Then there is Joan Baez, Aretha Franklin…. the list goes on and on. Have you seen the movie “20 Feet From Stardom” about women back up singers?

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Oh, wow! All great choices! Nope, haven’t seen it. Will have to search it out. Thanks for the tip! 😎👊🏻

  2. buddhasteps on

    k.d.lang and cris williamson are my favorites at any time. Joan Baez & Judy Collins i’ve loved for years.

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      Great choices ! I’ll have to take a listen to Judy Collins, who I’ve not yet heard. 😊

  3. Mrs Fever on

    Ooooh–!

    I have such a hard time resisting discussions like this!

    I like your picks. I’d have a hard time keeping it to five. With the criteria of pure aural enjoyment – which can diverge greatly depending on one’s mood – I suppose I would have to say range and versatility are key as well, for me. How about:

    Pat Benatar
    Brandi Carlile
    Kathy Mattea
    Nina Simone
    Ann Wilson

    • Searching4Self2013 on

      I almost put Brandi Carlile in mine, too! Oh…Nina Simone is so good, too!

      • Mrs Fever on

        I’m sitting here thinking about all the candidates. Melissa Etheridge, Billie Holiday, Alison Krauss, Grace Potter… Gah! There are such amazing female vocalists out there, past and present, it’s hard to keep it to five! 🙂


Leave a Reply

