29 Days: Long Weekend 

Coming to the end of a long week and the oddly extended month of February. I have the next four days off, YAY! 

Gonna pretend to- or, as I like to think of it, aspire to – do some long-neglected chores. I may go to this cool new theater-in-a-tavern that opened recently and find a movie to watch while I have lunch. I may hang out at the bookstore. I will spend some quality time with my pillow and also with my family, but not at the same time.  I will do a few errands on Monday. 

But more than anything I will devote real energy and concentration on NOT working, NOT checking work email, NOT serving as the emotional pacifier for executives and coworkers who need constant validation that their backsides won’t be pinched off by the monumentally stupid choices they want to make against advice and reason. Ok, maybe I’m not quite as relaxed and positive in this moment as I hope to be by next Wednesday. Hence the 4-day weekend. 
These next four days have loomed large in my imagination for most of the month. Not because of any plan for glittering events or exciting experiences, but because it’s almost 100% me-time. I’m working hard not to feel guilty about that, about both wanting and taking me-time. That’s always a challenge for me, resisting guilt. 

But I think it’s ok to focus on yourself once in awhile. And even if I end up spending four straight days in my pjs doing nothing but watching shows on my DVR, I’ll have spent time with myself and let the job rest for a while. I’ll count that as a win and one very good thing. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

