29 Days: This is it

So I missed posting yesterday, because I did spend the day in my pjs watching shows on my DVR. It was a pretty great way to relax and turn my brain off. A good thing for yesterday. 

Today I’ve been fighting technology difficulties with my 10+ year old MacBook. Struggling to get my old iPhone backed up before resetting and passing it on to a friend. I’m close to success, which is a good thing and makes me happy.

So, this is it, the end of my self-designed 29-day challenge. I set out to blog every day and find at least one good thing about every day. Although I made up for them, I did miss a few days of posts. But I succeeded in finding at least one positive thing worth mentioning for every day in February. 

I’m counting the effort a success overall. The aim all along was to get back to a habit, an instinct to positivity. I felt like all the stress in my life and all the debilitating negativity online and in the world had led me into a pattern of negative thoughts. I was seeing the annoying, the infuriating, the depressing, and the sad first, before anything good. That’s an express train to self-defeat and depression. So I decided to assert my will over my own mind and give myself a challenge. 

If I’ve learned anything from the effort it’s that I can choose how I react to and think about the world. I don’t have to wear rose colored glasses. But I can acknowledge the negatives without allowing them to take over my worldview. I get to determine whether my day is good or bad. Even when others treat me badly, I can choose to stay calm, find a positive lesson, and seek a positive outlet. 

Realistically, not every day will be good and there are times when I’ll let it get to me, or lose my temper. But the meta lesson is that there’s something to learn, something positive even in those misses. That’s a very good thing. 

2 comments so far

  1. Shugie on

    Kudos Dude!! Very proud of you and very inspiring for me! Stay positive and keep looking for that one good thing OGT each day!


Leave a Reply

